Voyager Photographers

Voyager Photographers

Format : International documentary series (10×26′)
Coproduction : PVP Films (Canada)
Broadcasted by : ARTE, ARTV, Explora
Partners: Tamera (Secret Planet), Pilotfly, Columbia
Backing : CNC – Centre National de la Cinématographie et de l’Image Animée, Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

ACN_1000px

The Q’eros of Peru, the Handzabe of Tanzania, the Waura of Brazil or the Kalulis of New Guinea… The most beautiful photographic accounts of traditional societies are always the fruit of a great love story between a photographer and his or her corner of the world.

The series Photographes-voyageurs (Voyager Photographers) follows five renowned photographers who have formed a strong emotional relationship with the traditional communities that they have been documenting for several decades. The episodes invite us to share these unique relationships, to discover little known cultures and also what goes on behind the scenes of the photographer’s work. With the photographic quest as the vehicle, each episode holds two promises: the discovery of an inaccessible traditional society, thanks to the close amicable relation between the photographer and a member of that ethnic community, and insight into the photographer’s work, artistic approach and aesthetic universe.

Specialists in a region (South America, Africa, Oceania…), each photographer is amongst the tops in their field. Each one has a strong story that binds him or her to a peoples at the end of the earth, as well as a philosophy on travel and an artistic universe that is their own. Each of the film directors who will be following these pho- tographers have also created their own artistic universe. Thanks to the association of these two sensibilities and the complementarity of their artistic perspective, we will discover the daily life of ten communities in a totally different part of the world than ours, ten stories of people and strong friendships and all that through the filter and insight of five filmmakers and five big names in French and international photo- graphy.

Photographes voyageurs

Photographes voyageurs

Une idée originale de Marc Dozier
Format : Série documentaire internationale (10×26′)
Coproduction : PVP Films (Canada)
Diffuseur : ARTE, ARTV, Explora
Partenaires : Tamera (Secret Planet), Pilotfly, Columbia
Soutiens : CNC – Centre National de la Cinématographie et de l’Image Animée, Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

ACN_1000px

Les Q’eros du Pérou, Handzabe de Tanzanie, Waura du Brésil ou Kalulis de Nouvelle-Guinée… Les plus beaux témoignages photographiques sur les sociétés traditionnelles sont toujours le fruit d’une grande histoire d’amour entre un photo- graphe et son bout du monde.

La série Photographes-voyageurs propose de suivre sur le terrain cinq photographes renommés qui entretiennent une relation affective forte avec les communautés traditionnelles qu’ils documentent depuis plusieurs décennies. Chaque épisode invite ainsi à partager cette relation unique pour décou- vrir à la fois des cultures méconnues et les coulisses du travail du photographe. Avec la quête photographique comme prétexte, chaque épisode tient une double promesse : découvrir une société traditionnelle diffcilement accessible grâce à la relation amicale forte entre le photographe et un membre de la communauté ethnique et dévoiler le travail, l’approche artistique et l’univers esthétique du photographe.

Spécialistes d’une région (Amérique du sud, Afrique, Océanie…), chaque photographe est une référence dans son domaine. Chacun a une histoire forte qui le lie avec un peuple du bout du monde, une philosophie du voyage, un univers artistique qui lui est propre. Chacun des réalisateurs qui suivront les photographes ont aussi créé leur propre univers artistique. Grâce à l’association de ces deux sensibilités et à la complémentarité des regards artistiques, nous découvrirons ainsi le quotidien de dix communautés du bout du monde, dix histoires d’hommes et d’amitié fortes, et cela par le filtre et la sensibilité de cinq réalisateurs et de cinq grandes signatures de la photographie française et internationale.